Wednesday, August 10, 2011
Why the double standard towards women and ?
So, I am going to feel free to rant and vent my frustrations.....I am a young woman. I am well educated and have a good head on my shoulders. I pride myself in being a strong, independent woman. I am also ually active, but not in a monogamous relationship. By personality, I am a very open (and considering the topic, pardon the pun) and honest person about myself in general and tend to be very sarcastic and speak alot in jest. Now, I work as a server/tail waitress. Anyone who has worked in the industry knows that the lives of co-workers and in general are always spoken of. It's pretty much the main topic of most conversations. Anyways, a few of my male co-workers have made comments implying that they think of me as "easy". Of course, I am very offended. It is true that I go out alot on dates and have many male friends, but because I am comfortable in stating that I enjoy while not being in a committed relationship, I am now thought of as easy (yet all of the single guys at work do the same). I don't see anything wrong in being ually active because I get tested regularly, always use protection, and am never having sex for the wrong reasons ( i.e. self-esteem issues, some unresolved "daddy issues"). Yes, I agree that sex when shared with someone with whom you love and trust is so much more than just sex, but I haven't found that person yet so why should I not enjoy something that, to be honest, is quite enjoyable even without the emotional attachments? People like to cite "lacking in self-respect and morals" as a cause, but I don't entirely agree. For some, that may ring true. However, I have a few girlfriends who have only been with maybe 2 or 3 guys, but are regularly cheating on their boyfriends and doing drugs. In my opinion, a person's morals are already shot if they are cheating on their boyfriend and exposing your body to harmful drugs is more on the level of lacking self-respect than being a sexually active, responsible adult. I do not sleep with just anyone or the first guy who buys me a drink at the bar, but like I said I am not in a monogamous relationship and I don't see any harm in that--as long as it's being done responsibly, safely, and everybody is on the same page. Now, I was raised Southern Baptist so I understand the religious implications. I was taught that pre-marital sex is wrong. I actually abstained until I was 19. I think what made me start questioning my choice and what I still wonder to this day is why there is such an emphasis put on a girl's sexuality? I, regardless being man or woman, would care more about a person's thoughts, beliefs, and ambitions than their past sexual history or lack there of (alotting that they are clean). I don't think any girl who may have been with less or more men than me to be anymore moral or respectable. I'm just looking for other people's perspectives and why they think the double standard prevails....(And yes, I am a Christian and have pre-marital sex, but please spare me your moral outrage. I'm looking for opinions on the matter, not a lecture!)
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment